League of Legends Mastery System – Explained

Welcome to the League of Legends ranking system guide. League of Legends is a world-famous team-based multiplayer game founded by Riot games. It has millions of players around the world and is getting better and better every season. Players choose one champion to play on a map called Summoner’s Rift, along with four other teammates. 

Players must be aligned with each other to organize team fights together and protect their turrets and the main Nexus. The team that first reaches the opposing team’s base and knocks down the main Nexus is the team that takes the victory. In this guide, we will explain how the League of Legends grading system works. Prepare for the class.

Also Check Out: How to Get a PBE Account?

What is Champion Mastery in League of Legends?

According to Riot, Champion Mastery is a kind of system that monitors the progress of every champion you play with. At the end of the match, you will get a complete report on what your champion was like compared to other performances of the same champion by other players. Basically, if you play a good match with Ahri, you will be able to see what grade you get at the end of the match. 

The rating is obtained compared to all other Ahri players in the region who have played in that position. If you played Ahri mid-lane, your rating would be compared to all Ahri mid players. The higher your score at the end of the match, the more champion points you will get. You can get grades in the following range, from highest to lowest: S +, S, S-, A +, A, A-, B +, B, B-, C +, C, C-, D +, D, and D-.

The rating you can get depends on several factors, from the role you play with, the champion you choose, and your performance in the game in general. The algorithm that rates you does not rely on just one category but on more than one, so no one knows for sure how grades are awarded after a match. By collecting Champion Points, you progress in the Mastery system. The Mastery system has 7 levels, and with the collection of Champion Points, you can level up. Mastery levels 6 and 7 can be earned only through Hextech Crafting.

Level CP Required Cumulative CP Required Cumulative CP %
 1 0 0 0
 2 1800 1800 8
 3 4200 6000 28
 4 6600 12600 58
 5 9000 21600 100

Also Check Out: How Much Does League of Legends Elo Boosting Cost?

How do I Win the Highest S Rating in League of Legends?

Of course, this is probably what interests you the most. How you need to play to win the highest S score after a match. You need to know that in addition to your gaming skill, your team must also play consistently in order to compete for the highest score. This is sometimes not easy, so we will explain to you what you need to pay attention to win that S + grade.

1. Focus on more kills and fewer deaths

The ratio of kills and deaths is one of the key aspects when assigning a rating to your champion. Simply put, you have to try to collect as many kills as possible and make sure that your champion does not die often. If you have the same number of kills and deaths, you will not be able to win an S grade. 

Also, if you play a support role, you are not expected to kill, but that does not diminish your chances of winning an S rating. Remember that the final grade considers your champion’s role and the strategy associated with that role.

2. Kill those minions

We can’t repeat enough times how important the Creep Score (CS) is for the final score but also for the overall performance of your champion. You have to learn what the average number of minions killed per minute is enough to be a competitor for a high grade. The Creep Score you achieve will eventually be compared to other champions who have played the same role as you, and to their total number of minions killed. 

If you are a beginner player, you have to learn how to farm because the Creep Score is extremely important in the League of Legends. Of course, the amount of minions killed depends on the role you play, so it’s not the same for one ADC champion and Jungler, but you’ll learn it all over time. Remember, the higher the Creep Score, the higher your grade.

3. Don’t forget to place wards around the map

Riot’s grading algorithm may not expect you to achieve a lot of kills as support roles, but it does expect you to meet other obligations as support. One of these is warding. Warding will affect your rating a lot, so don’t forget it. 

Wards are recommended to be placed everywhere on the map where the enemy team does not expect it, in the jungle, in the bushes, on their side of the field, and around the Baron and Dragon. If you place wards right on time and in the right place, you can save your team from opposing ganks or steal Baron Nashor from them right in front of their faces. It is recommended to set more than 30 wards during the game, so get to work as soon as the match starts.

4. Look out for that Dragon

In addition to killing opposing champions, you must earn an S rating by killing game objectives. Game objectives are creatures from the jungle, like Baron Nashor or Dragon and turrets. Focus to clear your lane by killing minions from the enemy team and clearing the passage of your minions to help you knock down the turret. 

This increases the chance of a higher grade. Also, Dragon is very important and powerful, don’t ignore him. The more dragons you kill, the more you strengthen your team. It is the same with Baron Nashor. Assemble your team and kill Baron Nashor to speed up the road to victory. And the road to S + grade!

5. Dealing and taking damage

When we talk about dealing damage, you have to know that it is not the same as killing. Kill is something you can always steal (we don’t recommend it unless you want to incur the wrath of your teammates) or you can kill the enemy champion by yourself. 

The amount of damage your champion deals will significantly affect your final score, so make sure your champion deal that damage whenever he has the chance. If you have chosen a tanky champion, damage taken will also affect the scoring which you can check in your stats after the match is over.


As you can read in this guide to the grading system, it is not enough to win a game and have the most kills to win an S grade. S grade requires a combination of different factors, from teamwork, the champion role you play, champion you chose, Creep Score, warding, Kill / Death ratio, etc. Riot has never announced precisely how grades are awarded, so you have to consider all of these factors in order to be in the race for S or S + grades. 

Winning Champion Points also increases your Mastery score, and we believe that your goal is to win the highest scores and reach the level reached by the best and most successful League of Legends players. Have fun!

Also check out: Difference between master and challenger

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 4.80 out of 5)